top of page

Critical Reflection On My Latest Remix (Week 11)


With the long weekend of Easter holiday, so I have a bit more free time and I planned to working on production. So I go and asked to the label if they have any remix packs for me to work. And the label send me a few demo links to give a listen and choose which track I like to work on. For electronic music production most of the time work on Trance subgenres such as Uplifting Trance, Tech Trance and Psy-Trance. But in the last couple of weeks there are two favourite songs at the moment and it is a fusion of Uplifting Trance and Tech Trance, let’s say more like melodic tunes but with a big darker tone for bass and plucks. So here are two of my reference that I’m trying to achieve.

So those two are my references of the way I want and here is the outcome.

Both of the track I referenced had vocals but the one I'm working on don't so I need to put more sounds on it. So to breakdown the track I have different tones of bass-line one is Tech Trance a bit darker tone then one PsyTrance bass-line to give a feel more of bouncy and another Tech Trance crispy bass-line which I sampled and play it back according to the notes. There are also 2 acid bassline going throughout the track. For one acid bassline I give panning from left to right everytime the note is played so It give you the feel of stereo image that is bouncing. For the pluck melody sounds I tried to get as much as close to the reference but I think the tones I created are a bit more brighter. And for one of the pluck I give a bit of delay and everytime the delay and reverb came I give a bit more volume dB so it is easier to notice. Then in the breakdown part there are three different instruments Piano, Viola and Harp. Piano and Harp are panned a bit to left and right and Viola sitting in the middle. And there are some pads coming out through VSTs. Then the lead arp is coming in and soon bass-line, snare roll coming in then the drop. So in the last drop it just repeated the previous part of kick, bass-line and acid, but this time I tried to chopped pluck melodies in different way and more high end percussions.

For overall there are a lot of things I need to improve especially in mixing and mastering because the outcome is a bit muddy in mid range frequencies. And according to my crtical listening they put a lot of white noises when the kick goes along to fill the high end frequencies spectrum. It's noticeable but normal listeners (who are not producers) won't notice it. I think i need to put more white noise and a bit more sidechain to give more bouncy feeling. Overall I really like it and enjoy working on it but have room to improvement in mixing and mastering especially. Here are some feedbacks I had so far

" Good Remix, Gonna be a challenge. Ur style didn't conflict the other remixers in this release"

Danny Oh, (Sundance Recordings).

" Really nice, feel like the bass could be bit more separated, bit overpowering, like overall could be bit more crisp / tight"

Roger Ye, Sensualise.

" I'm impressed my friend, firstly mixdown is awesome, elements are great, the builds and quick fills sound tight and crisp, bass is rubbery and runs nice with your kick for the style I reckon you have done an awesome job"

Elysian


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page