top of page

Trying to be an artist and also living as an engineer (Week 9)

So for this week Blog I’m going to write about a bit of myself and how I end up with audio and music related stuffs and what are the things I want to do with my career. For a short background I came from Myanmar (Burma) which is in South East Asia. If you don’t know where it is I hope you might heard about Aung San Su Kyi who is a noble prize winner for peace. Since I was young I’m more in engineering related things. I started using computer when I was three so it’s like 97 and yes started playing games.

At first I was interested more in computer science and most of the time I just do self learning with how to use certain kind of softwares. After my high school I started working as Tech Support and also learning network engineering same time at the work. Also on the other side I started to find out my interest and passion for music. Also I started learning other different media related things such as graphic designs, video editing etc. But I have more passion for music than any other things I’m interred in. So after I finished my college I worked a year with Network and Technical Support Engineer at the software company and also volunteering back at my college to run events. During those times I start making new friends who are in music industry and one day I got offered to do a graphic design job for a new Trance label. They asked me to do a logo for then all of their upcoming releases cover arts. I accept the job to give it a try and yes I’m still working with them today. So 2 years after I finished my college my parents started asking me what are you going to study. So I told them I wanna study audio engineer and I also want to become a music producer / audio engineer. My parents don’t agree with me at first because they don’t really want me to become an artist but I tried to comfort them and that actually take one year. On the same time I started learning Ableton with online tutorials. To study audio engineer there are a lot of arguments but I tied to bring up good points that what I want to be and what I’m trying to do with self learning. Later my dad accepted about studying audio engineering but still he always telling me not to pursue about becoming and artist I should focus more on engineering because that’s what I had experience and what I’m good at it.

I came to SAE with a little knowledge of music but turned out I can catch up engineering stuffs but not really much in music area. I’m not really good at playing instruments but I tried myself to improve more on mixing, recording, electronic music production. Because I tried to work my best where I had strength and in the meanwhile I’m also trying to improve my knowledge with music theory.

But since I came to SAE I’m still trying to find myself that where I’m suited to work in. Because to get a full time / day job in music industry it’s not as easy as others. So my currently plan is to get a day job as engineer such as live sound / post production related areas and also working on my electronic music productions to build my artist career. Since I’m also interested in working for events, and technical engineering stuffs maybe that might take me somewhere where I’m suited in.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page